The house was constructed in 1831 for Sandy Denholm, a blacksmith. It is a two storey brick and stucco Georgian building with a stone rear section, It was first licensed in 1836 as The Falls Of Clyde, later called The Young Queen from 1851 – 1877 and still later it was known as Maskell’s Hotel. By the late 1800’s the building was known as The Coffee Palace, a coffee house hosting accommodation forming part of the temperance movement from the mid 19th century.
A double storey home of 382 square metres (excluding cellar), boasting a reception room, formal dining room, large living room and 9 bedrooms (4 family bedrooms and 5 guest bedrooms). Bathrooms are located on the ground and upper floors. The residence includes a large country kitchen containing the original bakers oven. The flagstone flooring and exposed wooden beams in the living areas create an historic ambience and make for a unique entertaining and living experience. There are 9 fireplaces throughout. A number of outbuildings are located at the rear, including storage sheds and former stables.
The twentieth century has seen the property operate as a boarding house, doctor’s surgery and residence and antique store. The building is in wonderful condition and remains a private residence to this day and is a really distinctive part of the Bothwell streetscape.
Main Text & Information Source –
Youtube Video by NationRE on Fall of Clyde from October 2010.