Aged 22, William Johnstone and his wife (of one day) left Somerset, England in 1841. He was described as being ambitious, energetic and a hard worker. He expanded his business from the original leased site at 47 St John Street to the large premises at the corner of St John and Cimitiere Street. This building is a very unusual warehouse and counting house complex thought to be unique in Australia and constructed in 1842.
Main Text & Information Sources –
Australian Heritage Database
Historic Photos –